Nepal make history in ACC Trophy

Kathmandu, August 20:

Openers Mehboob Alam and skipper Binod Das rattled the Myanmar innings as Nepal recorded a two-ball victory and set history in the sixth ACC Trophy at the Kelab Alam Stadium in Kuala Lumpur on Sunday.

Pacemen Alam and Das ran through the Myanmar batting dismissing them for just 10 runs in 12.1 overs. Man of the match Alam claimed seven wickets conceding only three runs off 6.1 overs while Das took 3-4 in six overs. This is Alam’s second best international performance. His best figure is 8-18 against Maldives at the Emerging Nation’s Cup held in Kathmandu in 2003.

Myanmar, who is taking part in the tournament for the first time, had already suffered heavy defeat against Hong Kong but the defeat against Nepal was more humiliating. Alam claimed the first wicket in the opening ball of the game and did not stop until Myanmar was dismissed for 10 runs.

Apart from Alam and Das, Raju Basnet and Akash Gupta were the only other men to feature in the Myanmar scorecard. Basnet was involved in a good low catch at the short mid-wicket off Alam’s bowling while Gupta held one at point off Das. All other Myanmar batsmen were either bowled or trapped leg before.

Five of Myanmar batsmen got a run each while six others were dismissed for naught. Reaming runs came from byes and wides.

Nepal innings began with Gyanendra Malla and Mahesh Chhetri who scored three runs each. The Myanmar bowler Aye Min Than gave away three wides one of which missed wicket-keeper leaving Nepal with two more runs.

With all four wins in the league, Nepal has topped the Group C and will meet Bahrain in the quarter-finals at the same veunue on Tuesday.



Omer lbw b Alam 0

Zarkariya lbw b Das 1

Mohammed b Alam 1

A Rahman b Alam 0

Sharjeel c Raju b Alam 0

Y Tun b Alam 1

T Aye b Alam 0

Z Swe b Das 1

Yusuf c Akash b Das 1

A Thak b Alam 0

S Wunna not out 0

Extras: 5 (w 2 lb 3)

Total: 10 (12.1 overs)

FoW: 1-0, 2-1, 3-4,4-4, 5-7,6-7, 7-8, 8-9, 9-10

Nepal bowling: M Alam 6.1-3-3-7,

B Das 6-2-4-3


M Chhetri not out 3

G Malla not out 3

Extras: 5 (w5)

Total: 11/0 (0.2 overs)

Myanmar bowling: A Than 0.2-0-11-0