Nepal on top of the table with 15 gold medals as Day one of SAG2019 comes to a close

KATHMANDU: Nepal's medal tally has crossed twenty as it has pocketed 15 gold, three silver and three bronze medals each, so far, in the ongoing 13th South Asian Games (SAG).

Kamal Adhikari (Taekwondo) was the latest to add to Nepal's medal tally. Anu Adhikari won gold for the country in under 45 kg category of Kumite.

Prior to this, Kusum Khadka had beaten Bangladesh's Famida Akhtar, keeping one more gold in Kumite.

Meanwhile, Ayesha Shakya has secured another gold, this time with Sanjeeb Kumar Ojjha in 29 years above category of pair Poomsae. Aayesha Shakya had previously won the gold medal in Women’s Individual Poomsae of Taekwondo above 29 age category,

In the 84 kgs plus senior men's Kumite category, Biplav Lal Shrestha won gold for Nepal defeating Muhammad Baz of Pakistan.

Laxman Tamang won the gold medal defeating his Bangladeshi opponent Muhammad Mustafa in Karate Senior Men’s Individual Kumite, under 55 kg category at Nepal Karate Academy in Satdobato, Lalitpur on Monday. Tamang defeated Mustafa 1-0.

Similarly, Parvati Gurung won the gold beating her Sri Lankan opponent in Women’s Individual Poomsae of Taekwondo under 24-29 age category.


Meanwhile, in the Women's Triathlon underway in Pokhara, Soni Gurung added another gold for Nepal.

The women's category of triathlon that started from Gaurighat in Pokhara included 750-metre swimming, 20-kilometre cycling and five-kilometre race.

Gurung received the first prize while India's Pragya Mohan and Sarojani Devi received Silver and Bronze medals respectively.

In Men's category of Triathlon, Basanta Tharu received Bronze medal for Nepal. He lost to India's Adarsha M. N. Snimol and Bishworjit Srikhom who claimed gold and silver respectively.

In the meantime, Nepal won two bronze medals in badminton in men's and women's categories, both having been defeated by respective Sri Lankan teams.

List of gold medal-winning players from Nepal.



1.    Soni Gurung


2.    Anu Adhikari


3.    Kusum Khadka


4.    Mandekaji Shrestha, Pravin Manandhar, Mahasus Tamang

Karate team-men

5.    Sangeeta Magar, Saru Bista, Nirmala Tamang

Karate team-women

6.    Lakshman Tamang


7.    Biplav Lal Shrestha


8.    Aayesha Shakya


9.    Kamal Shrestha


10.  Nisha Darnal, Swastima Tamang, Sanjila Timilsina

Team category

11.  Sanjib Kumar Ojha, Aayesha Shakya

Taekwondo team pair

12.  Sina Maden


13.  Parvati Gurung


14.  Kamal Adhikari


15.  Mandekaji Shrestha