NPC claim football title

Dang, January 20

Nepal Police Club defeated Tribhuvan Army Club 5-4 on penalties to win the NSC Men’s National Football Tournament here at the Bharatpur Sports Ground in Ghorahi today.

The match went to spot kick battle after both the teams failed to score in the regulation period of 90 minutes. Suman Lama, Buddha Lama, Tej Tamang, Dinesh Rajbansi and Nir Kumar Rai converted their shots for NPC, while TAC’s George Prince Karki, Hiranya Magar, Bibek Basnet and Rupesh KC scored. Rajib Gurung failed to convert his shot.

Meanwhile, Nepal APF Club finished third after seeing off Far-western Region 4-3, also on penalties after a 2-2 draw. APF’s Ashish Lama, Santosh Katuwal, Man Bahadur Rana and Sumit Ale scored from the spot, while Deepak Khadka missed the chance. Far-western’s Prakash Hamal, Sunil Dhami and Rajan Thagunna converted their shots but Krishna Kathayet and Ram Chaudhary failed to score.

In the regulation period, Manish Lama and Ashish Lama netted a goal each for APF, while Mani Ram Chaudhary scored a brace for Far-western Region.