NSC to organise three events in 10 days

Kathmandu, June 28

National Sports Council is set to organise three school and university level events in the valley within 10 days.

The NSC will organise the ninth National Inter-school President Running Shield Tournament from July 6-8 with the meet featuring eight events — volleyball, athletics, kabaddi, taekwondo, karate, wushu, football and cricket, informed NSC’s Sports and Planning Division Chief Min Kumar Sharma. However, cricket event will be played among boys’ teams only.

A total of 650 players from five development regions will compete in the three-day event.

Athletics and football will be played at Dasharath Stadium, while volleyball will be organised at NSC covered hall. Similarly, kabaddi is slated to be held at International Sports Complex in Satdobato, taekwondo at Koteshwor Taekwondo Dojang, karate at National Table Tennis Training Centre in Lainchaur, wushu at the NSC semi-covered hall and cricket at the Pulchowk Engineering grounds.

Team champions in athletics, kabaddi and volleyball will get Rs 25,000 apiece, while teams finishing second and third will get Rs 20,000 and Rs 15,000 respectively. Similarly, top three athletes in individual events will earn Rs 3,000, Rs 2,000 and Rs 1,000, while winners from other team events will get Rs 1,500, Rs 1,000 and Rs 500 respectively.

The NSC will hold the third Valley-wide Inter-school Dandibiyo Tournament on July 10 and 11 on its premises in Tripureshwor.

A total of 11 boys teams, including five from Kathmandu as well as two teams each from Lalitpur, Bhaktapur and Kavre, will take part in the event.

The winners, runners-up and team finishing third will take home Rs 15,000, Rs 10,000 and Rs 5,000 apiece.

Likewise, the NSC will organise the second Prime Minister Cup University-level National Sports Meet from June 13-15.

The boys’ teams from different nine universities will compete in volleyball, table tennis and badminton tournaments. Volleyball will be played at the NSC covered hall, while table tennis will be organised at the National Table Tennis Training Centre and badminton will be played at the International Sports Complex.