Nepal beat Macau 1-0 to lift maiden AFC Solidarity Cup

KATHMANDU: With Sujal Shrestha's solo goal in the first half, Nepal lifted the AFC Solidarity Cup 2016, beating Macau in Sarawak Stadium in Kuching of Malaysia on Tuesday evening.

It is Nepal's third international title this year. Nepal had won the Bangabandhu Gold Cup in Bangladesh and the SAFF Games men's football gold medal in India earlier this year.

Nepal dominated Macau in both the halves of the final match played at waterlogged pitch this evening.

In the 52nd minutes, as Nepal won a free-kick Bimal Gharti Magar floated a weighted delivery into the six-yard box where unmarked Bharat Khawas directed a free header which, however, missed the target.

Nepal's standing skipper Biraj Maharjan conceded a needless free-kick in the 62nd minutes as the ball bounced awkwardly to touch his arms just outside the D-box area. As Macau player firmly struck the ball, Nepali custodian Kiran Kumar Limbu was well beaten. Ananta Tamang, however, came to rescue and preserved Nepal's lead.

Earlier this year, Nepal had lifted the Bangabandhu Gold Cup in Bangladesh and SAFF Games men's football gold medal held in India.

The Macau custodian remained busy throughout the first half as Khawas and Nawayug Shrestha went close to breaking the deadlock in the early stage of the play.

Nepal constantly barged into the Macau territory before Anjan Bista let fly a right-footed pile driver from 35 yards only to be denied by a superb save from the opponent goalkeeper.

Bikarm Lama went agonisingly close of doubling Nepal's lead in the added time of the first half as his header scooped over the bar from the six yard.

Laos secured third place, defeating Brunei Darussalam 3-2 at the Sarawak Stadium on Monday evening.


Nepal vs Macau in AFC Solidarity Cup final

KATHMANDU: Nepal and Macau are locking their horns for the AFC Solidarity Cup in Malaysia.

Nepal's starting XI

Rabin Shrestha

Ananta Tamang

Biraj Maharjan (C )

Aditya Chaudhary

Bimal Gharti Magar

Bikram Lama

Anjan Bista

Sujal Shrestha

Kiran Kumar Limbu (GK)

Nawayug Shrestha

Bharat Khawas

Macau's starting XI

Ho Man Fai (GK)

Lei Ka Him

Lao Pak Kin

Chan Man

Cheang Cheng Ieong Paulo (C )

Leong Ka Hang

Nicholas Mario Tarrao

Lam Ka Seng

Cheong Hoi San

Kong Cheng Hou

Pang Chi Hang


Nepal enter AFC Solidarity Cup final beating Laos 3-0 in tiebreaker