Nepalgunj, Baitadi enter semi-finals

Kathmandu, September 23:

Region No 5 (Nepalgunj) and Region No 6 (Baitadi) entered the semi-finals of the Wai Wai Women’s National Cricket Tournament.

Nepalgunj topped Group A, while Baitadi finished atop Group B after their back-to-back wins. On Tuesday, Nepalgunj cruised to a 10-wicket victory over Region No 1 (Biratnagar) and Baitadi beat Region No 4 (Bhairahawa) by 31 runs here at the Tribhuvan University Stadium.

Electing to bat first, Biratnagar made a meagre 29-5 in their allotted 20 overs and Nepalgunj overcame the total without losing any wicket in 8.3 overs. None of the Biratnagar batswomen could reach double figures with their highest contribution coming through sundries (17).

Player of the match Sita Shahi, skipper Nary Thapa Magar and Trishna Singh took one wicket each for Nepalgunj. In reply, openers Sarita Thapa (four) and Sita Rana Magar (eight) guided Nepalgunj to a comfortable victory in the ninth over.

In another match, Baitadi scored 81-7 in 20 overs after put into bat first. Ritu Kanojiya struck unbeaten 23 off 44 deliveries while opener Roshani Bohara chipped in with 22-ball 11. Baitadi also got 21 runs through extras. Sabita Chhetry claimed two wickets while Khina Thapa and Sumita Chaudhary took one each for Bhairahawa.

Chasing 82-run victory target, Bhairahawa had a disastrous start losing two wickets without scoring a run. Nitu Thapa top-scored with 18 off 34 balls for Bhairahawa, while others failed to score in double figures. Five of their batswomen were dismissed for ducks. Bhairahawa received 13 runs through sundries before eventually being dismissed for 50 runs with one ball to spare.

Player of the match Kanojiya returned to bag three wickets conceding four runs in her 3.5-ove spell and was ably supported by Sonu Khadka who finished with 3-11 from four overs for Baitadi. Rekha Rawal and Janki Bhatta also took one wicket each for Baitadi.

On Wednesday, Biratnagar will take on Kathmandu, while Bhairahawa are up against Birgunj. The winners will enter the last four.