Nominees unveiled in Jhapa

BIRTAMOD: Jhapa Coordination Committee of Nepal Sports Journalists Forum today announced the nominees for the Jhapa Sports Award slated for January 21.

Three nominees each in the male, female youth and coach categories along with three clubs for the people’s choice award category were announced at a press meet. The nominees were picked up by the Selection Committee headed by Parbat Portel.

Footballers Bishal Rai (B) and Yogesh Gurung as well as chess player Bhupendra Niraula were nominated in the male category, while cricketer Rubina Chhetri, karateka Estar Rai and boxer Sulab Magar were picked up in the female category.

Footballer Devendra Tamang and

Pujan Uparkoti and cricketer Sabnam Rai were nominated in youth category, while nominees of coach’s category

included Sanjay Rai (football),

Manoj Katuwal (cricket) and Sita Rai (karate).

Likewise, Jhapa-XI Football Club, Milan Cricket Club and Birtamod United FC were selected in people’s choice category. The winners of all categories will get Rs 15,000 each.

Meanwhile, Eastern Regional Football Association and All Nepal Football Association Member Jal Kumar Gurung said he would provide the organisers with two motorbikes from next edition for the winners of two categories.