Nepal Police Club defeated Nepal APF Club by eight wickets to win the title of the Kathmandu Mayor's Cup Cricket Tournament here at the TU Stadium today.

Batting first, the APF were bowled out for a paltry 105 runs in 29.4 overs before NPC raced to 110-2 with 155 balls remaining.

Gulsan Jha and Sagar Dhakal shared eight wickets between them to pack APF for a low total after they decided to take the first strike.

Basant Regmi top scored for APF with 22 off 41 balls that included three boundaries, while Amar Routela and Sundeep Jora contributed 18 each. Bhuvan Karki (14) and Abinash Bohara (12) scored in double figures.

Dhakal returned with 4-28 from 7.4 overs and man-of-the-match Jha took 4-36, while Pawan Sarraf and Lalit Rajbanshi also grabbed a wicket each for NPC.

In reply, NPC lost Kushal Bhurtel (15) after he had put up 33 runs with Sunil Dhamala in 10.3 overs, while Anil Sah (15) and Dhamala added 35 runs for the second wicket. Dhamala and Dipendra Singh Airee then took the team without further loss adding 42 runs for the unbroken third wicket.

Dhamala remained unbeaten on 59 off 82 balls hitting seven fours and two sixes, while Airee hit the winning six off Abinash Bohara on his way to scoring run-a-ball 11 not out. Bohara and Bhuvan Karki took one wicket each for APF. Champions NPC bagged Rs 500,000 and runners-up APF earned Rs 300,000.

NPC's Dipendra Singh Airee was adjudged the player of the series and he received Rs 50,000.

Tribhuvan Army Club skipper Binod Bhandari and Ariyo Poudel of Bagmati Province were named the best batsman and bowler respectively and they got Rs 25,000 each.

A total of five teams took part in the tournament organised by Cricket Association of Nepal under the auspices of Kathmandu Metropolitan City.

A version of this article appears in the print on March 14, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.