The 13th South Asian Games gold medallist Santoshi Shrestha of Kathmandu won the 3,000m race under the Golden Athletics Meet at the Dasharath Stadium today.

Shrestha, who became the fist-ever Nepali woman athlete to win gold medal in the regional sporting extravaganza held on home soil in November 2019, finished the 3,000m race in nine minutes and 49.09 seconds.

She beat Nepal Police Club athlete Rajpura Pachai (10:41.9) and Kathmandu's Bandana Rai (12:22.5). Shrestha was later adjudged the best athlete of the Meet along with Chandra Bahadur Pulami Magar, who won gold medal in men's 100m race.

Tanka Karki of Tribhuvan Army Club won the men's section gold in 3,000m with the timing of 9:10.16, finishing ahead of Shiva Bahadur Rayamajhi (9:16) and Santosh Nath Yogi (9:32.7).

APF athlete Pulami Magar bagged the 100m race in 10.8 seconds, while his teammate Aashish Chaudhary came second in 10.85 and TAC's Jeevan Chaudhary was third in 10.99. Saraswoti Chaudhary of TAC won women's sprint goal in 12.40 seconds, finishing ahead of APF's Shila Chaudhary (14.09) and TAC's Swastika Chaudhary (15.09).

APF athlete Nir Pratap Mahato won 200m race in 22.74 seconds, while Arun Mahato of Parsa came second in 23.54 and TAC's Chet Narayan Thanet was third in 23.77. Jaya Rani Tharu of TAC claimed women's section gold in 26.07 seconds, finishing ahead of Chitwan's Reshma Subedi (27.14) and Krishna Kumari Chaudhary of TAC (27.40).

Likewise, Som Bahadur Kumal of TAC came first in men's 400m race with the timing of 49.21 seconds, while Shiva Raj Parki of APF was second in 51.60 and Prakash Danuwar of TAC finished third in 51.98. Bhagrathi Kumari Chaudhary of APF won women's 400m gold in one minute and 04.1 seconds, while Seema Chaudhary was second in 1:07.8 and Kajal Bist third in 1.10.3.

TAC athlete Mukesh Pal claimed men's 800m race gold in one minute and 59.5 seconds, finishing ahead of his teammate Sunil Sunar (2:00.3) and Parsa's Prince Kumar Mukhiya (2:05.8).

In junior section, Sahan Chandra Shah of Kathmandu won the boys' 100m race with the timing of 11.31 seconds, finishing ahead of Nuwakot's Salim Dewan (11.41) and Parsa's Aadesh Kumar Yadav (11.60). Chitwan's Reshma Subedi (12.59), Lalitpur's Lujahla Amatya (13.41) and Dang's Seema Chaudhary (13.61) claimed top three spots respectively in girls' event. Binaya Adhikari and Aruna Rijal won the 400m race golds, while Yunish Ale Magar and Seema Chaudhary bagged gold medals in 800m events. More than 400 athletes took part in the Meet organised jointly by district athletics bodies of Kathmandu, Lalitpur and Bhaktapur under the auspices of Pro Sports Events.

A version of this article appears in the print on March 14, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.