NPC dominate Open TT Championships

Kathmandu, December 1

Nepal Police Club duo Santoo Shrestha and Nabita Shrestha won the singles titles of the 10th Purnaman Bajracharya Open Table Tennis Tournament here at the Lainchaur covered hall today.

Santoo came from a set down to beat Nepal APF Club’s Amar Lal Malla 6-11, 11-7, 11-9, 11-4, 11-7 in the men’s section final, while Chandan Shahi of Kathmandu and Shiva Sundar Gothe of APF finished joint third.

In women’s section final, the seven-time national champion Nabita registered a 11-7, 11-13, 11-7, 11-8, 11-3 victory over Rabina Maharjan of Times International. Elina Maharjan of NPC and Selisha Khadgi of APF were joint third. Top three players in both categories received Rs 30,000, Rs 15,000 and Rs 5,000 respectively.

Meanwhile, Umesh Manandhar (above-40), Kapur Sharma (above-50) and Uday Mohan Shrestha (above-60) won the veteran singles titles. Likewise, Swikar Lama and Nimesh Limbu of Angle Lord and Kritika Agrawal and Diya Magaiya of Whitefield won the school section doubles titles.

More than 250 players took part in the six-day tournament that featured 32 events. Nepal Police AIG Dhiru Basnet, All Nepal Table Tennis Association President Chatura Nanda Rajbaidhya among others handed over the prizes to the winners of the tournament organised by Kathmandu District Table Tennis Association.