NSJF announces nominees for Popular player award

Kathmandu, September 1:

Nepal Sports Journalists Forum (NSJF) on Monday announced the seven nominees for the Popular player category under the NSJF-LG Player of the Year Awards 2006-07.

The winner of the Popular player will be decided through SMS voting, said the NSJF in a release.

The nominees included taekwondo ace Deepak Bista, footballers Jumanu Rai and Anil Gurung, basketball player Bipendra Maharjan and cricketers Paras Khadka, Mehboob Alam and Nary Thapa, who is also a national badminton player.

The Miracle Infocom Pvt Ltd will manage the SMS voting at 4321 from Nepal Telecom and Mero Mobile users. One lucky winner among the SMS senders will get a LG mobile set from the main sponsor of the award, Chaudhary Group’s LG. Apart from the Popular player, awards in Male, Female, Youth, Coach, Lifetime Achievement and Special categories will also be presented at the September 10 ceremony to be held at Nepal Academy Hall, NSJF added.