Pakistan shift T20 league from Doha to UAE

Karachi, September 25

Pakistan on Thursday announced moving its twice postponed Twenty20 league from the Qatari capital of Doha to Dubai and Sharjah in the United Arab Emirates, without giving any reason for the venue change.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) said the Pakistan Super League (PSL) will be held from 4th to 24th February 2016 in Dubai and Sharjah, UAE. “The PSL will have a total of 24 matches which will be played over a 21-day period,” said a PCB release, apparently shifting the event from Doha due to a lack of facilities in the Qatari capital.

The PCB had planned the T20 league in 2013 but had to postpone it twice over a lack of response from sponsors and logistics problems but this time they are more confident of staging the event. “The PSL has already floated tenders for broadcasters. This will be followed by a tendering process for sponsorships in the second week of October,” the release said.

“Franchise owners will be inducted between mid to end November after which the foreign and local players will be drafted and teams constituted”, said Najam Sethi, chairman of the governing council of the PSL.

PCB claims that some of the big names who have consented to play in the PSL include former England star Kevin Pietersen, master blaster Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell and Dwayne Bravo Bangladesh’s Shakib Al Hassan and Sri Lanka’s Lasith Malinga and Angelo Mathews. Five teams — Quetta, Karachi, Peshawar, Lahore, and Islamabad — will be vying for glory in the first edition of PSL.