PM Cup cricket

KATHMANDU: The National Sports Council is organising the fourth Prime Minister Cup Women’s T20 Cricket Tournament in Mahendranagar from June 19.

A total of eight teams — one each from seven provinces and Nepal APF Club — will participate in the event which will be managed by Mahakali Sports Society, informed the organisers at a press meet on Wednesday. The teams are divided into two groups and top two each will make it to the semi-finals.

The winners and runners-up will receive Rs 500,000 and Rs 300,000 respectively.

Likewise, player of the series will get Rs 30,000, while best batter and bowler will earn Rs 15,000 each. Out of the total budget of Rs 8.8 million, the NSC will bear Rs 3.5 million.

Mahakali Sports Society will be responsible of the remaining budget.

The NSC had handed over the responsibility of managing the PM Cup One Day Cricket Tournament to Nepalaya International. The tourna concluded on Saturday at the TU Stadium with Nepal Police Club winning the title, but the management part of the event was pathetic and the organisers also failed to give the announced prizes to the players.