Policemen thrash BUC; Sankata beat Friends

Kathmandu, September 11:

Ramesh Budhathoki scored a hat-trick as Mahendra Police Club thrashed Boys’ Union Club 6-0 and Nilendra Dewan netted the late winner in Sankata Club’s 1-0 win over Friends’ Club in the Martyrs’ Memorial San Miguel ‘A’ Division League Football Tournament matches here at Dasharath Stadium today. Ramesh Budhathoki scored a hat-trick, while Kishor Subba, Jumanu Rai and Arjun Rijal scored one each in MPC’s victory. Budhathoki put the policemen ahead in the third minute when BUC’s second-choice goalkeeper Sundar Thapa fumbled the MPC striker’s attempt from tight angle. Subba doubled the tally in the 11th minute following Jumanu’s pass, while Budhathoki made it 3-0 scoring his second goal beating BUC’s off-side trap and dodging goalkeeper Thapa in the 44th minute.

Budhathoki completed his hat-trick in the 49th minute when he scored from eight yards following a pass from Jumanu, who made it 5-0 in the 60th minute in Budhathoki’s assist. Rijal completed the rout in the 84th minute, when his cross from the right flank beat BUC goalkeeper Thapa. Apart from the heavy loss, the BUC suffered another setback after referee Dilip Rajak expelled their striker Hari Thakuri in the 89th minute. Thakuri — who was registered in New Road Team squad in the beginning — surprisingly replaced Ujjwal Shrestha in the 64th minute. The new player-transfer rule, which was agreed by all the 15 clubs last week, allows a player to join any club if he has not been used in previous matches. In the other match, Dewan scored the only goal in the 85th minute as Sankata registered their second win of the tournament. Held to a 1-1 draw by APF in the first round, Sankata beat NRT 4-1 in the second and were held to a 1-1 draw by Jawalakhel Youth Club.