Province-1 thrashed Lumbini Province by 10 wickets in the Lalitpur Mayor Women's Championship match here at the TU Stadium today.

Batting first, Lumbini posted 104-2 in their allotted 20 overs before Province-1 raced to 106 without loss with 40 balls to spare to register their first victory.

The PM Cup winners were stunned by Nepal APF Club in the opening match on Saturday.

Province-1 openers Kajal Shrestha and Rubina Chhetri overcame the 105-run target with ease. Skipper Chhetri, who is also the national team captain, scored an unbeaten 68 off just 49 balls hitting 12 fours and a six, while Shrestha struck three boundaries in her 32-ball 25 not out.

Earlier, Saraswati GM scored half century to lift Lumbini innings.

Lumbini lost Barsha Rana (naught), bowled by Sabnam Rai, with just 10 runs on the board before GM combined with opener Nitu Bhandari to add 59 for the second wicket. Bhandari was run out for 33-ball 18.

GM and skipper Nary Thapa them took the team score past three figures sharing 35-run partnership for the unbroken third wicket. GM remained unbeaten on 50 off 66 balls that included five fours, while Thapa scored 20 not out off just 15 balls with the help of three fours.

A version of this article appears in the print on April 6, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.