Tiwari moves atop with victory

Kathmandu, November 4

Rabindra Tiwari won the title of the ninth edition of the Surya Nepal Gokarna Monthly Medal here at the Gokarna Golf Club today.

The 10-handicap amateur golfer Tiwari claimed the trophy on count back after he was tied on two-under 70 with Suhrid Ghimire, who played with 17 handicap allowance. Nine-handicapper Gopal Chitrakar came third, also on count back, after he was tied on one-under 71 with 15-handicap golfer Ang Dorjee Sherpa. The count back was decided on the lowest handicap golfer winning on tie break.

Wangchen Dhondup claimed the gross section award with the score of two-over 74, while Mayank Dahal came first in junior category with the score of four-over 76.

In all, 38 players took part in the tournament sponsored by Surya Nepal Pvt Ltd. Captain of Gokarna Golf Club Joseph Nathan handed over the prizes to the winners of the tournament which was played under stroke-play full handicap format.

With the victory in the penultimate round, Tiwari moved to the top of the nett section table with 340 points, while Devendra Bajgai is second with 280 points. Prithvi Malla is third with 250 points, followed by Gopal Chitrakar (200) and Prabhakar Adhikari (180).

In gross section, Prithvi Malla is leading with 500 points, while Gopal Chitrakar is second with 305 points. Wangchen Dhondup moved to third with 300 points, while Rabindra Tiwari (150) and Babu Sherpa (120) are fourth and fifth.

In junior category, Sam Doublard is leading with 515 points, while Arnav Shah is second with 485 and Mayank Dahal third with 360 points.

The 10th and final monthly medal round will be held in December. Top 40 golfers in nett category, 10 in gross and five in junior section will make it to the Club Championship finals, which will be played over two rounds in January and February next year.