Rajbanshi re-elected NSJF president

KATHMANDU; The sixth General Assembly of Nepal Sports Journalists Forum (NSJF) elected a 11-member central executive committee for three years tenure here today.

Except for the posts of two vice-presidents, all 10 the other executive members were elected unopposed. Binod Pandey and Sanjeev Shilpakar were elected as the two vice-presidents through election.

Pandey received 45 and Shilpakar got 44 votes while their contestent Srilochan Rajbhandari got 22 of the total 58 votes. Ajay Phuyal, who was a member in the previous committee, was elected the first vice-president.

President Niranjan Rajbanshi and General Secretary Hemanta Kafle unanimoulsy retained the third successive terms at the office. Mahesh Acharya also retained the post as Secretary for the second successive term unanimously. A member of the previous committee Prakash Timalsina was elected as treasurer unopposed.

Four members — Pramod Pokharel, Pawan Aharya, Ajaya Hamal and Niranjan Adhikari — were also elected unopposed. Meanwhile, the first meeting of the newly elected committee also nominated two members — Nabin Khatiwada and Devendra Subedi — today. The NSJF executive committee takes full shape after the nomination of two more members. NSJF President has the right to nominate the two remaining members. Meanwhile, Timalsina was also named the spokesperson of the NSJF.

Earlier, President of Federation of Nepali Journalists (FNJ) Dharmendra Jha, National Sports Council Member Secretary Hari Babu Chaudhary and Nepal Olympic Committee General Secretary Jivan Ram Shrestha inaugurated the General Assembly. Former FNJ President Bishnu Nisthuri, NSC vice-president Pitambar Timalsina, All Nepal Football Association President Ganesh Thapa among others were present on the occasion.