Ram Shah clinch Inter-school title

Kathmandu, August 11:

Shree Ram Shah Higher Secondary School of Aabu Khaireni, Tanahu defeated Balkumari Higher Secondary School of Sunakothi, Lalitpur 3-2 in the final of the Coca Cola Inter-school Football Tournament, organised by All Nepal Football Association, here today.

With the win Ram Shah School earned Rs 200,000 while Balkumari received Rs 100,000. Dipendra Police Higher Secondary School, which finished third beating Gyanodaya School 2-1, got Rs 50,000 whereas Gyanodaya earned Rs 25,000.

At Dasharath Stadium, Prawin Adhikari put Ram Shah ahead in the 15th minute when he fired a left-footed shot into the second bar from the edge of the penalty box. Ekraj Rana doubled the tally two minutes later with a header following Adhikari’s cross, while Amar Kadel made it 3-0 in the 55th minute with a close range shot.

Balkumari reduced the margin to 3-1 in the 66th minute when Som Lal Lama tapped in following Shyam Bahadur Pariyar’s pass inside the six yard box. Balkumari returned into the match through Daut Lama’s goal in the 70th minute when his left-footed shot from the edge of the area deflected to a defender before kissing the net. They fought hard till the final whistle, but failed to create other chances.

Earlier in the third-place playoff, Dipendra Gurung and Kshitiz Lama netted a goal each for Dipendra Police HS School, while Jagat Singh Lama scored for Gyanodaya School.

Acting minister for Education and Sports and minister for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation Pradeep Gyawali gave away prizes to the winners.

In all, 129 schools took part in the competition, which was organised in two phases.