Rawat named best of the best

KATHMANDU: The National Sports Council (NSC) on Wednesday awarded cricketer Maya Rawat with the Dasharath Chand Talent Sportsman Award, established by the Martyr Dasharath Chand Memorial Trust.

Rawat, member of the ACC Women’s U-19 Cricket Tournament winning team, was named the best of the best by the Trust.

CAN secretary Sashi Dutta Pandey collected the felicitation letter and Rs 15,000 on behalf of Rawat, who is currently in Malaysia to take part in the ACC Women’s Twenty20 Cricket Tournament slated for July 3-11. Rawat scored 117 runs in seven matches in Thailand in 2008. Among the best players awarded were boxers Anuradha Lama and Deepa Chhetry and judokas Sunita Magar, Saraswoti Thapa and Indira Rai. All the three players received felicitation letters and Rs 5,000 each.

Anuradha and Deepa won bronze medals at the fourth Women’s Boxing Championships held in Guwahati, India, while Sunita bagged bronze medal at the Asian Youth Championships in Yemen. Judokas Saraswoti and Indira won gold medals at the SAF Judo Championships held in Kathmandu in 2008.

Youth and Sports

Minister Ganesh Nepali, former Prime Minister Lokendra Bahadur Chand, former Minister Urba Dutta panta, Trust President Karna Bahadur Chand and NSC Member Bijay Rai gave away the awards to the winners. Trust President Chand announced the awards for a journalist and a photo journalist from the next year.