RCT, Satdobato register wins in Martyrs Memorial B Division Football League

Kathmandu, August 22

Ranipokhari Corner Team (RCT) and Satdobato Youth Club won their matches of the Martyrs Memorial B Division Football League here at the Nepal APF Club grounds today.

RCT defeated Nayabasti Youth Club 2-0, while Satdobato stunned Boys Union Club 3-0.

Nepal’s one of the most successful clubs, RCT took lead in the 70th minute through a suicide goal. Nayabasti’s Dipesh Thapa Magar scored in his own goal while trying to clear a shot from RCT’s Dipesh Magar from goal line.

Soujan Rai, who replaced Shekhar Limbu in the 67th minute, doubled the tally in the 90th minute and helped RCT collect full three points from their first match. Rai scored the goal from inside the box off Kiran Rai’s cross.

Nayabasti had created more chances than RCT but failed to convert them, thanks to poor strikers. Sanjog Limbu’s attempt was well defended by RCT’s Bidur Rijal from the goalline in the 31st minute.

Limbu’s powerful shot in the 59th minute was punched out by RCT goalie Dilip Chhetri.  RCT players’ numerous attempts were far from the posts.

“We created more chances than RCT but our boys failed to execute them and later conceded goals as well. Oppositions were good with a lot of experienced players,” said Nayabasti coach Devendra Jung Shahi, who also blamed the sloppy ground conditions.

His counterpart Baiju Kapali was not satisfied with the team’s performance despite winning the match. “We came here to win the match and result also favoured us. However, our boys did not meet the expectations despite having sound preparations,” said Kapali. “Although the opponents attacked on numbers of occasions, their shots were far from convincing,” he added. Six-time A Division League champions Rani Pokhari were relegated to B Division in 2013-14.

Meanwhile, in the second match, Ripu Bhulan scored a brace and Suman Thapa Magar netted one in Satdobato’s victory against Boys Union. Bhulan scored opening goal in the

28th minute, while Magar doubled the advantage in the 63rd minute before Bhulan made it 3-0 in the 78th minute.