SAM claim title

BHAKTPUR: Sainik Awasiya Mahavidhyalaya won the title of the 26th IGP Cup Inter-school Football Running Trophy here on Thursday.

SAM defeated hosts Nepal Police School 4-2. Bishal Ale Magar scored a brace, while Sandip Gurung and Uttam Shahi netted one each for SAM, while Pujan Rana Magar and Shekhar Ale Magar scored one apiece for the hosts. NPS ‘B’ finished third. Top three teams earned Rs 30,000, Rs 20,000 and Rs 10,000 respectively.

Uttam Shahi of SAM was named the player-of-the-match, while his teammates Rohit Rana Magar and Bishal Ale Magar won the best goalkeeper and highest scorer awards respectively.

Likewise, Shekhar Rana Magar of NPS was declared the best player of the tournament, while teammate Nirjal Kharel was named the emerging scorer. A total of 12 teams took part in the tournament.

IGP Sarbendra Khanal handed over prizes to the winners.