Samacharpatra extend lead over THT on Day II

Kathmandu, August 22:

Nepal Samacharpatra extended their lead to 130 pins over The Himalayan Times on the second day of the second Media Cup Bowling Tournament, which has been jointly organised by Nepal Bowling Association and Nepal Sports Journalists Forum (NSJF), here at Bowling Boulevard, Kantipath, today.

The team led by NSJF president Niranjan Rajbanshi — who bettered his individual best score of 174 by five pinfalls — accumulated 1973 pinfalls. Charu Shrestha, also of Nepal Samacharpatra, became the top female scorer so far with 136 pinfalls.

The Himalayan Times also maintained their position with a total of 1843 pinfalls. Skipper Mahesh Acharya rolled down 136 pinfalls in the first game as The Himalayan Times accumulated 469 pinfalls. Udipt Singh Chhetry rolled down 127 pins, while Prakash Timalsina had 137 pinfalls and Shristi Madan ended up with 69 pinfalls.

In the second game, Udipt top-scored for The Himalayan Times with 160 pinfalls, while Acharya rolled down 143, Prakash had 116 pins and Shristi Madan contributed 84 pins for a total of 503 pinfalls on the second-day game. After the completion of 16 games — four each by all the four players of a team — by all the participating 14 teams, The Kathmandu Post, who rolled down 982 pinfalls on the second day for a total of 1843, climbed up one spot to the third leaving behind Metro FM (1751), who had 932 pinfalls on Monday. Others in the pack were Image Channel (1642), The Rising Nepal (1550), defending champions Nepal 1 Television (1488), Graphics Vision Media (1471), Himalaya Times (1441), City Post (1360), Gorkhapatra (1337), Samaya (1264), Kantipur (1232), and National Form of Photo Journalists (1205).

The team accumulating highest pinfalls over the three days will be the winner. Individual highest scorers, both male and female, will also be awarded. Hotel Shahanshah International will host the final-day games. The first-day games were played at Fun World Nepal Recreation Centre.