Shanker Dev, NCC thru

Kathmandu, April 10

Shankar Dev Campus and Nepal Commerce Campus entered the final of the Sponsor University Cricket Cup here at the TU Stadium today.

In the first semi-final match, Shankar Dev defeated Tribhuvan University Central Campus by 22 runs. Batting first, Shankar Dev scored 163-5 and restricted TU Campus to 141-9 in 20 overs.

After losing opener Somesh Yadav in the first ball, Ayushman Bam and Rabindra Shahi added 53 runs for the second wicket to consolidate their innings. Bam top scored with 46 off 37 balls that included eight fours, while Shahi scored 22 hitting three boundaries.

Ashish Pokhrel scored a quickfire 38 off 24 balls hitting a boundary and three sixes, while Rabin Chand remained unbeaten on 21 off just 11 balls that included two sixes and Siddhant Katuwal struck a six in his 11 not out off just four balls. Arun Airee (12) also scored in double figures. Rupesh Shrivastav, Sagar Dhakal, Pradeep Tandon and Raman Pokharel took one wicket each for TU Campus.

In reply, TU Campus failed to reach the target despite making a solid start with openers Sushant Timilshina (14) and Aschal Chaudhary adding 58 runs. Chaudhary struck five boundaries and a six in his 27-ball 42. Alfaj Mansuri scored run-a-ball 28 with the help of three fours. Man-of-the-match Ashish Pokharel and Lokendra Dhami took two wickets each for Shankar Dev.

In another match, NCC beat Golden Gate College by six wickets. Golden Gate were bowled out for 130 in 20 overs before NCC reached 133-4 with two balls to spare. Sanjay Basnet top scored for Golden Gate with 37 off 32 balls that included two each fours and sixes, while Prashanna Shakya and Sourav Singh Pela contributed 18 each.

Basant Khatri took three wickets for NCC, while Nabin Yadav claimed two and Lokendra Chand and Abinash Adhikari pocketed one each.

In reply, Pawan Shrestha and Roshan Budal added 45 runs for the unbroken fifth wicket to guide their team home. Shrestha struck three fours and two sixes in his unbeaten 42 off 46 balls, while Budal scored 22 not out off just 14 balls hitting a four and two sixes. Himamshu Dutta scored 25, while Dheraj Adhikari contributed 17 for the winners.

Avinash Bashyal, Indra Kamal Manandhar, Sanjay Basnet and Prashanna Shakya took one wicket each for Golden Gate.