Sherpa clinches golf title


Pemba Sherpa won the title of the Indian Ambassador’s Invitational Golf Tournament here at the Gokarna Golf Club today.

Played under stableford 3/4 handicap format, the seven-handicap amateur golfer scored 39 points to finish first in nett section.

Sherpa, who had completed his round on Saturday, scored 20 points on the front nine before adding 19 on the latter half. Along with the trophy, Sherpa received a callaway mavrik driver.

Surendra Phuyal finished second on count back after he was tied on 38 points with SSP Ashok Singh. The runner-up was decided on the count of last six holes where Phuyal (12) edged past Singh (10). Junior golfer Sadbhav Acharya won the gross section award after he scored 39 points. The 14-year-old Acharya had scored 41 stableford points but he was not eligible for the nett section prize due to the age limit.

Acharya received the gross section trophy and a Callaway Mavrik hybrid driver.

Kashmira Shah won the women’s section title with 30 points and she received a trophy and callaway mavrik 3-wood. Arsiya Banu came second on count back after she was tied on 29 points with Rekha Ghimire. Banu earned 17 points on the back nine, while Ghimire scored 14. Shaswat Pradhan bagged the junior section trophy with 38 points.

Likewise, Tendi Sherpa claimed the senior section trophy with 36 points and he received a trophy and odyssey putter. Tashi Dong won the most birdies award with five birdies in his round. Vijay Shrestha Einhaus won the longest drive award, while Maj Nischaya Rayamajhi bagged the closest to the pin title. Also, Phintso Ongdi Lama received the best front nine award and Pavitra Karki got the best back nine trophy. Both the golfers scored 20 points to win the awards.

A total of 77 golfers took part in the two-day event was organised by the Embassy of India. Indian Ambassador to Nepal Vinay Mohan Kwatra, DCM Namgya C Khampa, Gokarna Golf Club President Suhrid Ghimire, Captain Joseph Nathan, and Nepal SBI Bank CEO and MD Dipak Kumar De handed over the prizes to the winners.

The tournament was sponsored by Nepal SBI Bank, ISME Pvt Ltd., Tata Motors, Dabur Nepal and Pernod Ricard.