Sherpa clinches Surya Nepal Gokarna Monthly Medal title

Kathmandu, December 7

Tendi Sherpa won the eighth edition of the Surya Nepal Gokarna Monthly Medal here at the Gokarna Golf Club today.

Playing with 11-handicap allowances, Sherpa scored two-under 70 to claim the nett section trophy. Joseph Nathan finished runner-up with one-under 71, while Maj Gen Daman Bahadur Ghale came third with the score of two-over 74.

Babu Sherpa won the gross section trophy with the score of nine-over 73. Sadbhav Acharya carded four-under 68 nett to win the junior section award. A total of 26 golfers took part in the tournament sponsored by Surya Nepal Pvt Ltd.

President of Gokarna Golf Club Suhrid Ghimire handed over prizes to the winners of the tournament played under stroke play full handicap format.

After the eighth edition, Babu Sherpa stayed at the top of the nett section table with 225 points, while Tendi Sherpa moved to second. Joseph Nathan jumped to third position from seventh with 175 points. Pradhumna Simkhada is fourth with 170 points and Dawa Sonam Sherpa is fifth with 160 points.

In gross category, Tashi Tshiring continues to lead with 400 points, while his younger brother Wangchen Dhondup is next with 370 points. Vijay Shrestha Einhaus (220) is third, followed by Tashi Dong (195). Babu Sherpa and Tendi Sherpa are joint fifth with 160 points.

In junior section, Sadbhav Acharya extended his lead accumulating 600 points, while Ang Phurba Sherpa is a distant second with 200 points. Shaswat Pradhan is third with 180 points, while Mayank Dahal (160) and Shreeyog Basnyat (40) are fourth and fifth respectively.

A total of 10 medal rounds will be played until December.

Top 40 players in nett category, 10 in gross section and five juniors will qualify for the club championships, which will be played over two rounds in January and February, next year.