Shiva Ram wins Golden Jubilee Golf Open C’ship

Kathmandu, December 11:

Shiva Ram Shrestha won the fifth event of the Surya Nepal Golf Tour when he registered a three-stroke victory over Ramesh Nagarkoti at the Ghana Shyam’s Golden Jubilee of Golf Open Championship here at the Tribhuvan Army Officer’s Golf Club today.

Shiva Ram, who had a five-stroke lead over Deepak Thapa Magar going into the final round, carded one-over 73 for a total of six-under 210. Shiva Ram set the new course record of eight-under 64 on the second day, breaking Sanjay Lama’s record of four-under 68 set on the first day. This was Shiva Ram’s fourth title in five events under the Tour so far. Mani Rai of Dharan won the other one.

Ramesh Nagarkoti carded another under-par round to finish second at 213. Nagarkoti carded two-under 70 today. Deepak Thapa Magar, who carded one-over 73, came third at 215. Sanjay Lama (219) and Rabi Khadka (221) also came in the top five.

Lama, who led the field after the first round with a course record of four-under 68, carded two-under 70. Playing with the leader’s group, Rabi Khadka slipped to fifth at 221 after he carded six-over 78 in the last round.

Mani Rai (226), teaching pro in Grmany Sabin Sapkota (227), Ram Thapa (230), Deepak Neupane (231), Rajendra Phuyal (233), Pashupati Sharma (234), Radheshyam Thapa (235), Krishna Hari Mizar (237), Jaya Ram Shrestha (238) and Bishnu Neupane (239) completed the top 15.

Dhana Thapa won the amateur section title with the score of 13-over 229 after a round of five-over 77 on the final round. He had played the rounds of 76 on the first two days. Rupak Acharya came second with 15-over 231, while Pushkar Rajbahak was third at 241. Bhuwan Pudasaini (242), Tashi Tsering (243) and Maj NJ Rayamajhi (248) completed the top six.

Out of the total cash prize of Rs 200,000, Shiva Ram received Rs 46,000, while Nagarkoti earned Rs 31,000. Thapa Magar, Lama and Khadka got Rs 23,000, Rs 16,500 and 13,500 respectively. Others in the top 15 also got their share of cash prizes, while the top amateurs received trophies.