Shree Bhagwati, Jhamsikhel promoted

Lalitpur, June 26

Shree Bhagwati Club and Jhamsikhel Youth Club earned promotions to B Division here at the ANFA Complex grounds on Sunday.

While Shree Bhagwati Club won the Martyrs Memorial Red Bull C Division League crown, Jhamsikhel finished runner-up following their victories on the last day of the tournament. Shree Bhagwati accumulated seven points in three matches of the Super League stage to finish atop the table, while Jhamsikhel earned four points.

Shree Bhagwati defeated Manohara United Youth Club 2-0. Sujit Budhathoki and Sunil Lama scored for the winning team. In another match, Laxman Thapa Magar scored a brace as Jhamsikhel beat Birgunj Youth Academy 3-1. Bikash Lama scored one for Jhamsikhel, while Birgunj got the consolation goal courtesy of an own goal from Sulav Thapa. Manohara and Birgunj collected three points each. Navajyoti Youth Club and Bouddha FC were relegated from the ‘C’ Division.

With the trophy, Shree Bhagwati received Rs 300,000, while Jhamsikhel got Rs 150,000. Third-placed Birgunj earned Rs 50,000 and Manohara got Rs 25,000. Bikash Gauchan (midfielder) and Sujit Budhathoki (coach) of Shree Bhagwati, Jayram Chaudhary (goalkeeper) of Birgunj, Sabin Khadka (defender) of Manohara and Bikash Lama (Forward) of Jhamsikhel were declared the best individuals of the tournament. They received Rs 15,000 each. Youth and Sports Minister Satya Narayan Mandal and ANFA Acting President Narendra Shrestha handed over the prizes.