Shrestha opens up seven-stroke lead

Kathmandu, October 9

Top pro Shivaram Shrestha opened up a seven-shot lead after the halfway stage of the Surya Nepal Central Open here at the Gokarna Golf Club today.

Defending champion Shrestha carded five-under 67 to post the score of nine-under 135 after the second day of the season opening event of Surya Nepal Golf Tour 2018-19. The RNGC pro Shrestha was seven strokes ahead of home club pro Bhuwan Nagarkoti, who carded a 68, and amateur golfer Tashi Tshiring (67).

Shrestha was on fire in the second round as he carded five birdies on his way to carding four-under 32 on the front nine and added one-under 35 on the back nine. He began the day with a birdie and added four more on the third, fifth, seventh and eighth holes. He dropped a shot on the sixth. Shrestha carded three birdies on the 11th, 12th and 14th holes before facing two straight bogeys on the 15th and 16th holes.

Nagarkoti carded five-under 31 on the front nine and played one-over 37 on the back nine. He carded birdies on the third, fourth, and fifth holes before sinking an eagle on the seventh. Nagarkoti suffered a double bogey on the 11th and faced bogey on 17th against birdies on the 13th and 18th holes.

Amateur Tshiring suffered a bogey on the first hole but came back strongly carding five birdies on the second, third, fourth, sixth and ninth to take the turn at four-under 32. On the back nine, he carded four birdies on the 10th, 12th, 15th and 16th holes but he suffered a double bogey on 14th and a bogey on the final hole that forced him finish the back nine at one-under 35.

Dhana Thapa was fourth at one-under 143 after he played one-over 73, while amateur Wangchen Dhondup (71) was next at one-over 145. Surya Prasad Sharma (71) was sixth at two-over 146. Four pros - Jayaram Shrestha (68), Deepak Acharya (75), Bikash Adhikari (75) and Deepak Magar (76) - and two amateurs Sunil KC (76) and Sandip Tamang (76) shared the seventh.

The cut was applied at 14-over 158 with 22 pros and nine amateurs making it to the final two rounds.

Rabi Khadka, Rame Magar, Krishna Man Rajbahak, Dipendra Rayamajhi, Pradeep Kumar Lama, Pashupati Sharma, Prasanna Upreti, Ram Krishna Shrestha, Shiva Kumar Majhi, Chuda Bahadur Bhandari, Bhuwan Kumar Rokka, Rajendra Shrestha Pradhan, Ramesh Nagarkoti and Asish Pariyar were the pros who survived the cut.

In amateur section, Prithvi Malla, Subash Tamang, Bipin Tamang, Prabendra Singh, Binod Tamang and Surendra Phuyal also made the cut.