Shrestha wins President’s Cup

Kathmandu, January 19

Suraj Shrestha won the title of the RNGC President’s Cup Golf Tournament here at the Royal Nepal Golf Club today.

Played under stableford 3/4 handicap format, Shrestha finished first in count back after he was tied on 38 points with Maj Gen Daman Bahadur Ghale and Samir Acharya. The 17-handicap amateur Shrestha scored 15 and 23 points on two halves, while Ghale and Acharya earned 19 and 18 points on the back nine respectively. Along with the trophy, Shrestha bagged round-trip ticket to Bangkok from Thai Airways and gift hamper. Ghale finished as runner-up, also on count back and he got trophy and gift.

Navaraj Bahadur Thapa won the gross section trophy with the score of 32 points. Rekha Ghimire claimed the women’s category title on count back after she was tied on 28 points with four players — Sandhya Shakya, Dr Rita Thapa, Arshiya Banu and Sushila Thapa. Ghimire finished first as she had scored 19 points on the back nine, while Rai and Thapa were the next best with 13 each. Dr Rita Thapa bagged senior women’s section trophy.

Col Shashi Bahadur Singh won the senior category (men) title with 32 points, whereas Madhukar Yakthumba bagged the super senior section trophy with 24 points. Ravinder Saini won the guest section trophy with 35 points and he also bagged the most birdies award with three birdies.

Samir Acharya won the longest drive award, while Prakash Ban bagged the closest-to-the-pin trophy. Suman Joshi was awarded with the best sportsmanship trophy.

A total of 62 players took part in the tournament organised by Royal Nepal Golf Club in honour of its president Rabindra Man Shrestha. RNGC President Shrestha, past presidents Manindra Raj Shrestha, YP Lohani, Madhukar Yakthumba, Prachanda Bahadur Shrestha.

RNGC Vice-president Tashi Ghale, Captain NK Rai, Lady Captain Pawitra Yakthumba, Jawalakhel Group of Industries Director Sashin Joshi, and Thai Airways Manager Pissanu Charnfun handed over the prizes to the winners.