Shuttlers, wrestlers picked up for SA Games

Kathmandu, December 29

Nepal Badminton Association selected the players for the 12th South Asian Games here on Tuesday.

Departmental teams dominated the selection tournament as top seven players in both men and women’s section were picked for the regional games slated for February next year in India.

Dipesh Dhami of Tribhuvan Army Club finished first, ahead of Nepal APF Club’s Bikash Shrestha and TAC duo of Ratnajit Tamang and Nabin Shrestha.

Likewise, Bishnu Katwal of Nepal Police Club was fifth, while APF’s Sudip Sedhain and Sajan Krishna Tamrakar were sixth and seventh respectively.

In women’s section, Saradevi Tamang led the table finishing ahead of her sister Nangshaldevi. Amita Giri, Shikshya Shrestha, Jeshika Gurung, Megha Chand and Anju Rai came in top seven. Shikshya is from APF, while all other players are from TAC.

Nepali shuttlers have won seven bronze medals in the SA Games so far, with Sumina Shrestha taking the individual medal in the 10th edition in 2006.

Meanwhile, Nepal Wrestling Association completed the selection of players for the SA Games.

Seven wrestlers were picked on the second and final day of selection tournament, while nine others had already booked berths in the regional games. Jaya Mangal Yadav (57kg), Ram Babu yadav (65kg), Baijanath Yadav (70kg), Bhekhraj Pandit (74kg), 10th SA Games silver medallist Bunilal Raut Ahir (86kg) and Sunir Shah (97kg) won their respective weight category to join Satyendra Prasad Yadav  who was unopposed in 125kg  in men’s section final squad.

On Monday, Sumitra Rai (48kg), Ishwori Thapa (53kg) and Sharmila (55kg) won their respective weight categories, while Laxmi Khatri (58kg), Kabita Pun (60kg), Shanti Chaudhary (63kg), Lila Singh (69kg) and Bhanu Thapaliya (75kg) were selected unopposed in women’s section.