Sri Lanka enter final

Kathmandu, March 12:

Sri Lanka defeated Arambagh Kriasangha of Bangladesh 4-0 to enter the final of the Prime Minister Cup Invitational Football Tournament here at the Dasharath Stadium today.

Kasun Jayasooriya struck twice and Namal Anthony scored one, while the other came courtesy of an own goal from Arambagh defender Den Mohammed.

Sri Lanka will now play against the winners of the other semi-final match between Nepal ‘Red’ and JW Team of Thailand. The final is slated for Saturday.

On Thursday, Sri Lanka dominated the field from the beginning and scored in the second minute when Anthony fired past Armabagh goalkeeper Mitul from 10 yards after Jayasooriya failed to connect EB Chanua’s cross.

They doubled the lead seven minutes later when Jayasooriya controlled the long cross from Chathura Gunarafne before firing past Arambagh glovesman Mitul from inside the box.

Arambagh woes further added when Den Mohammed scored an own goal while trying to clear an attempt from Chanua. Jayasooriya scored his second and team’s fourth goal six minutes into the second half following a pass from Anthony.

Arambagh, who held Nepal ‘Blue’ to a 1-1 draw and secured the semi-final berth after holding JW Team of Thailand to a 0-0 draw, were unimpressive against Sri Lanka. They could not threaten the Sri Lankan goal. In their solitary attempt, Md Loutfor Rahman Noyon hit the cross bar in the 88th minute.

Sri Lankan manager Rear Admiral Ananda Peiris said the team management was satisfied with the result. “We could score early and that gave us the momentum,” he said. “We could have scored couple of more goals but we instructed our players not to press hard for more as we wanted to avoid injuries and cards,” explained Peiris. Arambagh Kriasangha coach Quazi Neamula Majid accepted that the match was one-sided. “It was an one-sided affair as they (Sri Lanka) played very well,” said Majid.