SS Event, Himalayan, Baluwatar Club triumph

Kathmandu, January 15

SS Event Pvt Ltd defeated Nachhetra Sports Club of Nuwakot by 30 runs in the Pran Litchi Drinks first National Inter-club Youth Cricket Championship here at the TU Stadium today.

Batting first, SS event scored 139-3 in 20 overs before restricting Nachhetra to 109-8. National team opener Subash Khakurel top scored for SS with unbeaten 65 off just 54 balls, while Puspa Thapa struck five boundaries in his 40 not out off 32 balls. Opener Paresh Lohani scored 15 of 16 balls hitting two fours, while Dipendra Chaudhary struck a four and a six in his 13-ball 14. Rakshyak Khanal, Sanjay Shah and Yogesh Bhat took one wicket each for Nachhetra.

In reply, Nachhetra batsmen failed to build partnerships except for the 39-run stand shared by Sanjay Shah (17) and Rajesh Rimal (21). Birat Man Dangol (20) and Aviraj Yadav (11) were the other batsmen to score in double figures. Player-of-the-match Puspa Thapa returned to take 3-21 for SS, while Ram Naresh Yadav pocketed 2-14 and Sarad Pokhrel and Dipendra Chaudhary claimed one wicket each for SS.

In another match, Himalayan Cricket Academy thrashed Nepal Police Club by eight wickets. Batting first, NPC were bowled out for 73 in 17.5 overs, while Himalayan raced to 74-2 in 12.1 overs. Siddhantha Lohani scored 34 off 33 balls hitting four fours, while opener Dilip Nath (10) was the other NPC batsman to reach double-figure mark. For Himalayan, player-of-the-match Yagyaman Kumal took 3-20, while Bhuwan Karki and Abinash Bohara took two wickets each and Lalit Bhandari claimed one.

In reply, opener Bhupendra Thapa scored an unbeaten 47 off just 38 balls that included seven boundaries that helped Himalayan reach the target easily. Sandeep Jora struck three fours in his 27-ball 18. Manjeet Shrestha and Siddhantha Lohani took one wicket each for NPC.

At the Pulchowk Engineering College grounds in Lalitpur, Baluwatar Cricket Club outplayed Makawanpur Cricket Club of Hetauda by nine wickets. Batting first, Makawanpur were all out for a paltry 45 runs in 16.2 overs before Baluwatar reached 46-1 in just six overs. Man-of-the-match Anup Oli was the pick of Baluwatar with 4-15, while Sonu Tamang took 3-10 and Bijay Gautam claimed one wicket.