Sudurpashchim Province defeated Lumbini Province by eight wickets to advance to the final of the Lalitpur Mayor Women's Championship here at the TU Stadium today.

Batting first, Lumbini managed just 72-9 in their allotted 20 overs before Sudurpashchim raced to 75-2 with 45 balls remaining. Sudurpashchim will face Nepal APF Club in final on Saturday.

Electing to bat first, Lumbini were nicely cruising at 51-2 in 11.4 overs and could have posted the fighting total but they collapsed suddenly and lost seven wickets for just 11 runs to become 62-9 in 17 overs.

Laxmi Chaudhary top scored for the team with 29-ball 26 that included three fours, while skipper Nary Thapa, who scored runa-ball 11 with the help of a boundary, was the only other batter to contribute in double figures.

Laxmi Saud was the pick of the Sudurpashchim bowlers taking 4-17 from four overs, while Ritu Kanoujiya claimed 3-14. Sunita Luhar and Kabita Joshi bagged one wicket each.

In reply, Sudurpashchim openers Manju Bokati and Rewati Dhami put 38 runs on the board in 6.2 overs before the latter was dismissed for 22-ball 17 that included two fours. Bokati and Bindu Rawal then added 25 runs for the second wicket before the opener lost her wicket. Bokati struck three fours in her 30-ball 26. Rawal and Kabita Joshi took the team home without further loss. Rawal remained unbeaten on 17 off 22 balls that included two fours, while Joshi struck a four in her three-ball knock. Kritika Marasini took both the Sudurpashchim wickets taking 2-23 from four overs.

A version of this article appears in the print on April 8, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.