Swimmers Subba, Shah dominate final day

Lalitpur, May 31

Anubhav Subba and Sofia Shah claimed four gold medals on the final day of the eighth Pramod Memorial Cup Open and Age Group Swimming Competition here at the International Sports Complex pool today.

Subba and Shah, along with Subham Shrestha and Tisa Shakya, earned berths for the 17th FINA World Swimming Championship to be held in Budapest, Hungary from July 20-31. Kiran Karki and Niharika Tuladhar are in the reserve players’ list.

Subba, who had claimed three gold medals on Tuesday, came first in 200m freestyle with a timing of two minutes and 17.83 seconds. Devesh Manadhar (2:17.85) and Nassir Hussain (2:35.40) were second and third respectively.

Subba also won gold in men’s 100m backstroke by clocking one minute and 16.30 seconds, finishing ahead of Alexander Shah (1:18.65) and Devesh Manadhar (1:22.31).

Subba’s third gold medal came in the 100m freestyle as he took one minute and 0.16 seconds to complete the distance. Devesh Manadhar (I:0.93) came second and Alexander Shah (1:3.29) finished third.

Subba took 29.24 seconds to win the 50m butterfly gold, leaving behind Devesh Manadhar (29.65) and Ugyen Sherpa (31.56). On Tuesday, Subba won gold medals in the 200m individual medley, 100m butterfly and 50m backstroke.

Similarly, Kiran Karki (33.92), Shuvam Shrestha (34.19) and Rupesh Chaudhary (36.97) bagged top three positions in the 50m breaststroke.

In women’s category, Sofia Shah clocked two minutes and 53.87 seconds to win the 200m individual medley gold. Tisa Shakya (2:54.53) and Duana Lama (2:58.72) came second and third respectively.

Shah also won 100m backstroke gold after completing the distance in one minute and 22.96 seconds. Oshina Bharati (1:23.81) and Shreetika Singh (1:25.19) finished  behind Shah.

Shah won day’s third gold medal in the 100m freestyle with the timing of one minute and 5.28 seconds. Tisa Shakya (1:7.81) and Shreetika Singh (1:11.22) won silver and bronze respectively.

Shah dominated the women’s category as she also won the 50m butterfly gold by clocking 34.22 seconds, while Ayushma Tuladhar (35.56) and Oshina Bharati (35.72) bagged silver and bronze respectively. Shah had won gold medals in the 200m freestyle and 50m freestyle on Tuesday.

Niharika Tuladhar (39.16), Tisa Shakya (41.62) and Sonira Bista (41.88) bagged top three positions in the 50m breaststroke.