TAC, Machhapuchhre register wins

Kathmandu, January 14

Tribhuvan Army Club (TAC) and Machhapuchhre Cricket Club of Pokhara registered victories in the Pran Litchi Drinks first National Inter-Club Youth Cricket Championship here on today.

In the match played at the TU Stadium, TAC thrashed Nepal Engineering College (NEC) by 107 runs. Batting first, TAC made 160-5 in 20 overs and packed NEC for a paltry 53 in 16.1 overs. Sharad Vesawakar’s unbeaten 59 off 48 balls with eight fours guided TAC to a huge total. Sagar Pun (29), Anil Mandal (20) and Bikram Sob (not out 15) were other contributors for TAC. Palden Lama claimed three wickets, while Pramod Acharya took a wicket for NEC.

In reply, NEC could not resist the pace attack from TAC bowlers led by Jitendra Karki and were packed cheaply. Six of the NEC batsmen failed to open their accounts, while other three did not reach double-figure mark. Nishant Gadhtoa top scored for NEC with 17 runs, while Pramod Acharya remained unbeaten on 15. Karki claimed four wickets, while Chandra Saud took three and Avinash Karna grabbed two wickets.

In another match, Machhapuchhre defeated G-Force Cricket Academy by 26 runs. Batting first, Machhapuchhre scored 162-3 in 20 overs and restricted G-Force for 136-5. Raju Paudel scored an unbeaten 44 off just 25 balls hitting two fours and three sixes for Machhapuchhre, while Dipesh Khatri scored 40 of 42 balls. Karan KC (23), Ishan Singh Baniya (21) and Aakash Thapa (21) also made valuable contributions with the bat. Utsav Ojha, Roshan Dhami and Aditya BK took a wicket apiece for G-Force.

In reply, G-Force bounced back strongly after losing the early wicket of Subash Pradhan (nine). Hasim Ansari and Saurav Pela added 73 runs for the second wicket but they did not get support from others. Ansari scored a quick fire 63 off 39 balls with seven fours and two sixes, while Pela made 16 runs. Samir Nepal remained unbeaten on 22 off 19 balls. For Machhapuchhre, Karan KC, Ritesh Baral, Raju Paudel, Raju Gurung, Dipesh Khatri and Subash Chhetri claimed a wicket apiece.