Thapa wins golf title

Kathmandu, December 22

Hem Bahadur Thapa won the title of the RNGC Captain’s Cup Golf Tournament here at the Royal Nepal Golf Club on Saturday.

Played under stableford ¾ handicap format, Thapa accumulated 40 points to finish first in men’s section, while Ashish Man Sherchan was second with 38 points. Sherchan also bagged the longest drive award. Pratima Sherpa won the gross section trophy with 30 points and claimed the most birdies award with four birdies.

Kalpana Rana bagged the women’s category title with 40 points, while Prerana Malla was the senior ladies winner with 38 points finishing ahead of Kalyani Moktan (27). Himadri SJB Rana claimed senior section award with 38 points, while Maj Bejoy Moktan bagged the super senior section trophy.

Ishaan Poudyal won the junior category trophy with 23 points, while Vivaan Poudyal was second with 22 points. Suman Joshi bagged the closest-to-the-pin award. A total of 70 golfers took part in the two-day tournament.

RNGC President Rabindra Man Shrestha, former Chief of the Army Staff Gaurav SJB Rana, former RNGC presidents Prachanda Bahadur Shrestha and Madhukar Yakthumba, Lady Captain Pawitra Yakthumba and Captain Maj Narendra Kumar Rai handed over the prizes to the winners.