Three Star beat JYC to finish third

Kathmandu, March 6:

Nabil Three Star Club beat Samsung Jawalakhel Youth Club (JYC) 3-1 in their last game to finish third at the Martyrs Memorial San Miguel ‘A’ Division League Football here today. NIB Friends Club also ended their campaign with a 9-1 hammering to the already relegated Brigade Boys Club (BBC) in another game.

Pradeep Maharjan, Anjan KC and Uttam Gurung scored for Three Star while Bikram Lama replied for JYC. Nilendra Dewan scored three, Sishir Adhikari scored two and Bijay Mahat, Niraj Chhetri, Bishal Shrestha and Ukesh Shrestha netted one goal each for Friends Club. Binod Thapa scored for BBC.

Three Star ended their campaign with 57 points, five more than fourth-placed Manang Marsyangdi Club who have one game left. Three Star were champions two years ago while they finished runners up last year. Tribhuvan Army Club lead the standing with 63 points, one more than Mahendra Police Club. The two departmental teams will fight for championship on Thursday.

Pradeep Maharjan put Three Star ahead in the 33rd minute before Anjan doubled the tally in the 42nd. Bikram Lama bridged the gap in the 47th minute. Uttam Gurung sealed Three Star’s victory in the 81st minute.

Three Star coach Bal Gopal Maharjan was satisfied with their overall performance in the league. “We started poorly in the first leg,” said Maharjan adding that they made a good comeback in the second leg to finish third.

JYC coach Kishor KC was happy to stay in the upper division despite their poor run this season. “We should learn lesson from this league so that such situation do not arise in future,” said KC. In another game, Nilendra Dewan opened the scoring for Friends in the 17th minute and added another three minutes later. Bijay Mahat scored third in the 26th but Binod Thapa pulled one back for BBC in the 67th minute.

Dewan completed his hat-trick in the 68th minute and Sishir Adhikari, Niraj Chhetri, Bishal Shrestha and Ukesh Shrestha all joint the goal feast.

Today’s matches

• MMC vs Boys Union @ 12:30pm

• RCT vs Machhindra @ 2:30pm