Chitwan Tigers registered their second straight victory, while Lalitpur Patriots and Bhairahawa Gladiators shared points in the Bajaj Pulsar Everest Premier League here at the TU Stadium today.

The Tigers defeated Kathmandu Kings XI by three wickets for their second win in as many matches.

Batting first, the Kings posted 141- 8 in their allotted 20 overs before the Tigers reached 142-7 with eight balls to spare.

The Tigers were reeling at 95-7 in 14 overs after skipper Sompal Kami's controversial dismissal for a second-ball duck when he was trapped leg before the wicket by Jitendra Mukhiya but Rajesh Pulami and Kamal Airee took the team home adding 47 runs for the unbroken eighth wicket. Kami was not satisfied with the umpire's decision and his unsporting gesture also drew criticisms in social networking sites.

No 6 batsman Pulami remained unbeaten on 26 off 29 balls that included two sixes, while No 9 Airee struck a boundary and two sixes in his 15-ball 23 not out. Dilip Nath (23), Karim Janat (21) and Mohammad Shahzad (17) also contributed in double figures.

Ryan Burl and Mukhiya took two wickets each for the Kings, while Janak Prakash, Gulsan Jha and skipper Sandeep Lamichhane bagged one each.

Earlier, the Kings failed to build meaningful partnerships after they were invited to take the first strike. Subash Khakurel top scored for the team with 35 off 34 balls that included two each boundaries and sixes, while Raju Rijal struck three fours and two sixes in his 20-ball 28. Janak Prakash scored 16-ball 26 with the help of a four and two sixes, while others could not reach double figures.

Player-of-the-match Sagar Dhakal was the pick of the Tigers bowlers taking 4-21, while Karim Janat claimed 2-18.

In another match, skipper Sharad Vesawkar hit a six off the last ball to help the Gladiators tie the scores and share points after poor light stopped the teams from deciding the match in super over.

Batting first, defending champions Patriots posted 177-7 in 20 overs before the Gladiators reached 177-5, thanks to Vesawkar's six off Rashid Khan, who conceded 17 runs in the final over.

The Gladiators needed 18 runs to win the match and Khan came in to bowl the last over. Khan dismissed Kushal Malla in the third ball before Upul Tharanga hit him for a six and the Sri Lankan took a single in the next ball giving strike to his captain. Vesawkar lived up to his expectations and hit the Nepal U-19 medium pace bowler for the maximum to tie the match.

Both the teams agreed to share points after the super over was not possible due to poor light.

Tharanga remained unbeaten on 67 off 44 balls that included six boundaries and three sixes, while Vesawkar was not out on six from one ball he faced.

Aarif Sheikh scored run-a-ball 28 hitting two fours and a six, while Tamim Iqbal contributed 14. Khan was impressive in his spell before the final-over drama and he finished on 3-34 from four overs, while Rijan Dhakal claimed 2-17.

Earlier, Sandun Weerakkody top scored for the Patriots scoring 41-ball 58 with the help of two fours and five sixes, while Azmayullah Omarzai struck two fours and four sixes in his 22-ball 42. Sandeep Jora scored 38 off just 25 balls hitting two each fours and sixes, while Oshada Fernando scored 19-ball 20 that included two fours and a six.

Abinash Bohara took 2-47 for the Gladiators, while Krishna Karki and Aarif Sheikh bagged one wicket each.

A version of this article appears in the print on October 1, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.