Dhakal wins half m’thon

KATHMANDU: Arjun Prasad Dhakal of Armed Police Force won the second RBB half marathon finishing the 21-km race in one hour, 10 minutes and 01 seconds. The race was organised by Rashtriya Banijya Bank to mark its 40th anniversary today. APF’s Akkal Bahadur Bohara (1:10:25) and MPC’s Tshering Lama (1:12:29) came second and third respectively. In all, 94 participants took part in the event in which 13 athletes completed the distance in the given time of one hour and 20 minutes. — HNS

Panauti ‘B’ clinch title

KATHMANDU: Sanjaya scored two goals as Panauti Children’s Home ‘B’ beat Katja 5-0 and won the first Namaste Football Tournament. Chize, Akash and Lok also scored. Sunil Gurung of Katja was voted the best goalkeeper, Santosh Balami (Chandrodaya) was the top scorer with 10 goals and Ritan Shrestha was adjudged the best player of the tournament. Karma Sherpa, vice-president of ANFA, gave away prizes. — HNS

Don Bosco win opener

KATHMANDU: Hosts Kathmandu Don Bosco College thrashed Loyala College 59-16 in the inaugural match at the basketball competition, under the Weeka Talentia 2005. In other matches, Himalayan White House College beat Xavier’s International College 68-24; and Prime College beat St Xavier’s College 59-21. Siddhartha Dhoj Khati (Don Bosco), Binay Shrestha (Prime) and Sadish Pradhan (White House) were declared man of the match. — HNS

Media Cup shooting

LALITPUR: Nepal Shooting Association, under the auspices of Nepal Sports Journalists Forum, is organising the first Media Cup Shooting Tournament on February 11. Rana Bahadur Chand, secretary general of NSA, will organise a workshop on February 3 for the participants. In all, 60 media persons are expected to take part in the tournament, which has four different events. — HNS

Constellation triumph

KATHMANDU: Constellation School defeated Lyceum School 5-0 in the football match at the Mid-North Winter Sports, which has been organised by Mid-North Mutual board. In cricket, Siddhartha Vidyapeeth defeated Universal High School and Unique School beat Bigyan High School. In all, 11 schools are taking part in the event. — HNS