ANFA-Mayos football

LALITPUR: Kathmandu outplayed Bara 5-0 in the inaugural match of the ANFA-Mayos Inter-school Football Tournament, which has been organised jointly by Ministry for Education and Sports, National Sports Council, and ANFA under the sponsorship of Himalayan Snax and Noodles Pvt Ltd to mark the 34th Birthday of Crown Prince Paras, here today. In the other match at ANFA Complex, Panchthar defeated Chitwan 1-0. At Buddhi Bikash Mandal ground, Rautahat rout Bhaktapur 10-0, Morang thrashed Banke 8-0, and Kavre overwhelmed Kailali 8-0. At Jawalakhel Youth Club, Makawanpur beat Udaypur2-0, and Rupandehi edged out Jhapa 2-1. — HNS

ITF felicitates winners

KATHMANDU: Nepal International Taekwondo Federation (ITF) today felicitated the winners and participants at the second ITF Championship held from December 27-29 last year in Bangalore, India. Nepal finished second with 10 medals — three gold, two silver, five bronze — in the six-nation event. Januka Shrestha, Sunita Pandit and Sanjaya Shrestha won gold medals, while Chandani Shrestha, Omkar Budha Magar and Krishna Gopal Rajthala had won bronze medals. Dhruba Bahadur Pradhan, general secretary of Nepal Olympic Committee, gave away felicitation letters to the athletes. — HNS

Prime College beat ACE

KATHMANDU: Bijen Shrestha scored 22 points as Prime College beat ACE Institute 68-11 in the inaugural match of the Prime Cup 3rd Inter-College Basketball Tournament, which has been organised by Prime Sports Club, here today. In other matches, Sadish netted 22 points as White House College beat Intensive 46-10; Sahid Smarak outplayed BGA 37-18 with Bikash and Raju scoring 12 points each for the winners; and Samendra Sherchan netted 20 points in Brookfield’s 61-19 win over Classic Academy. — HNS

Birthday Cup Shooting

LALITPUR: Suraj Bahadur Singh, Prashant Narayan Singh, Prahlad Karki and Radheshyam Shrestha entered the 10m Riffle final at the Birthday Cup Open Shooting Tournament, which has been organised by Nepal Shooting Association to mark the 34th birthday of Crown Prince Paras, here today. In women’s section, Phulmaya Kyapathaki, Rita Shrestha, Durga Sinjyali and Smita Rai entered the final. In men’s 10m pistol, Rudra Raj Maskey, Suraj

Bikram Shahi, Ashish Bikram Shahi and Devendra Pandey entered the final, while Saraswati Baniya, Sangita karki, Sabita Basnet and Binita Thapa made it to the women’s final. — HNS

Srichaphan wins car race CHENNAI: Thai tennis sansation Paradorn Srichaphan, who has won the hearts of audiences at the Chennai Open, has also triumphed in a car race here. But this was a car race with a difference. Organised by Daimler Chrysler, the makers of Mercedes Benz, this was a race on the centre court of Nungambakam stadium that featured toy cars manoeuvred through remote control. Amid applause, Srichaphan competed hard with a young enthusiast named Aditya to eventually win the race. — HNS