Eight-A-Side football

LALITPUR: Hosts Khalibari Club 'A' defeated X-ways 2-0 at the inaugural match of the first Nationwide Eight-A-Side Football Tournament here the Buddhi Bikash Mandal on Sunday. Anil Gurung and Sujan Gurung scored a goal each for the host team. A total of 30 teams are participating in the eight-day knockout tournament. The winner and the two runners-up will get Rs 15,000, Rs 10,000 and Rs 5,000 respectivley. — HNS

Archers off to Kolkata

KATHMANDU: A four-member Nepali Archery team left for Kolkata on Sunday to participate in the fourth Asian Archery Grand Prix slated for September 15-19. The 232-rated Prem Prasad Pun, 345-rated Asim Sherchan and Jeet Bahadur Moktana will represent Nepal in the 70m event. Team coach Ramesh Bhattachan also accompanied the archers. Jeet Bahadur is making his international debut. The archers would get new ratings according to their performance, said Nepal Archery Association's president Laxman Kumar Shrestha. Member Secretary of the National Sports Council (NSC) Hari Babu Chaudhary bade farewell to the team. — HNS

APF, ECS triumph

KATHMANDU: The Nepal Armed Police Force (APF) Club and Employment Creation Services (ECS) won their respective matches at the first National Volleyball Men's League Championship here at the National Sports Council covered hall on Sunday. The departmental team cruised past Western Region in straight sets 25-21, 25-22, 25-13 to climb atop the board with six points. In another match, ECS saw off People's Liberation Army (PLA) Club 25-16, 25-19, 16-25, 26-24. — HNS

Automobile rally ends

KATHMANDU: The Kathmandu-Jiri motorbike rally, organised by Nepal Automobile Association ended on Sunday. The rally started from Dasharath Stadium enroute to Bhaktapur, Dhulikhel, Khadichaur, Charikot, Tamakoshi before ending in Jiri, covering a distance of 188- km. Winners, however, will be announced only on Monday according to the time, distance and speed the riders travelled with, said the organiers. Only 35 riders were able to complete the rally according to the time limitation set by the organisers. Top three bikers will receive Rs 15,000, Rs 10,000 and Rs 5,000 respectively. — HNS