TAC wins Satakshi Gold Cup crown

Jhapa, November 23

Tribhuvan Army Club defeated Laxmi Hyundai Manang Marshyangdi Club 2-1 and won the title of the second Satakshi Gold Cup Football Tournament here today.

George Prince Karki and Nawayug Shrestha scored a goal each for TAC, while Manang Marshyangdi Club skipper Anil Gurung scored the consolation goal for his side.

TAC took the lead in the 18th minute through Karki’s goal. Karki converted a free kick from the edge of the penalty box after MMC’s Suleman brought down Nawyug Shrestha.

Shrestha doubled the advantage in the 44th minute through a controversial goal. FIFA Referee Lawa Khatri awarded the goal but MMC players protested saying that the ball went outside the post. The match was halted for nearly 50 minutes following the controversy.

When the match resumed, MMC’s skipper Gurung found the back of the nets utilising Dona Thapa’s cross in the 64th minute to cut the deficit.

Winners Tribhuvan Army Club and runners-up MMC got Rs 500,000 and Rs 250,000 respectively, while MMC’s Bishal Rai was named the best player of the tournament and he earned Rs 50,000.

Similarly, TAC’s Nawayug Shrestha, who scored three goal, was the highest scorer and got Rs 25,000.

TAC’s George Prince Karki and Suman Aryal got the awards of the best forward and best defender respectively, while Nabin Neupane was named the best coach. Manang Marshyangdi Club’s Dona Thapa was the best midfielder. The individual award winners received Rs 20,000 each.