Kathmandu, December 8

Biratnagar Warriors defeated Lalitpur Patriots by three wickets in the opening match of the TVS Everest Premier League here at the TU Stadium today.

Batting first, Gyanendra Malla’s Patriots posted 104-9 in 20 overs before Paras Khadka’s men reached the target with one ball to spare but not before losing seven wickets.

Karan KC was the hero of the match as he slammed three sixes, including one in the final over to ensure his team’s victory, and a four in his unbeaten 36 off just 19 balls. Warriors were reduced to 73-7 in 16-4 overs but KC combined with Paul van Meekeren of Netherlands to take the home without further loss adding 22 runs for the unbroken eighth wicket.

The Warriors had a dramatic middle order collapse where they saw three key wickets — skipper Khadka (eight), Smit Patel (one) and Roelof van der Merwe (naught) — falling in the space of two runs. Warriors came under further pressure at 50-6 after Aasif Sheikh and Sumit Maharjan were dismissed cheaply.

Sheikh was the second best scorer with 19 off 30 balls while fellow opener Anil Kumar Sah scored 11, the only third player to score in double figures. Indian recruit Gaurav Tomar was the pick of the Patriots bowlers taking 3-10, while Sandeep Lamichhane claimed 2-12 and Lalit Narayan Rajbanshi pocketed one wicket.

Earlier, Patriots innings revolved around the knock of skipper Malla, who missed the half century by just one run. Malla struck three fours and two sixes in his 52-ball innings. Sunny Patel (20) and Pawan Sarraf (14) were the other two batsmen to contribute in double figures.

Man-of-the-match Karan KC (2-20) and van Roelof der Merwe (2-14) shared four wickets between them for the Warriors, while Basant Regmi, Smit Patel and Paras Khadka claimed on wicket each.

A total of six franchise-based city teams are taking part in the tournament and the organiser, EPL Pvt Ltd, is yet to announce the prize money and other individual awards.