Yangal clinch U-15 title

Himalayan News Service

Kathmandu, May 13:

Yangal Cricket Club defeated Baluwatar Training Centre by 17 runs in the final of the Under-15 Kathmandu District Cricket Tournament, which was jointly organised by Cricket Association of Nepal and Baluwatar Cricket Club.

Opting to bat first after winning the toss at Tribhuvan University Stadium, Yangal Club scored 188 runs losing six wickets in their allotted 40 overs.

No 5 batsman Gyanendra Malla top-scored in the match with 61 off 69 balls, including seven boundaries, while Ram Pradhan hit five fours in his 35-ball 32. Laxman Pradhan hit the only six of the match while scoring 21 off 30 balls, whereas Aftab Hussein scored 13.

For Baluwatar, Dipankar Thapa took three wickets conceding 25 runs in eight overs, while Sanjeev Maharjan and Deepak Chettri pocketed one wicket each.

In reply, Baluwatar Cricket Club failed to overcome the target and scored 171 runs losing nine wickets. Sunam Gautam top-scored for Baluwatar with 41 off 62 balls. Saroj Shrestha scored 36 off 72 balls, while Binod Thapaliya scored 32.

Dipankar Thapa scored 23 and Mahesh Poudel scored 15 runs, while other six batsman failed to reach double figure mark.

CAN president Jai Kumar Nath Shah and president of BCC Upendra Prasad Bhattarai distributed certificates to the winners of the five-day event participated in by eight teams.