KATHMANDU: Indian journalist Ravish Kumar was awarded this year's Ramon Magsaysay Award on Friday, Agencies reported.

The 44-year-old award winner is NDTV India’s senior executive editor and one of India’s most influential TV journalists, the award citation said.

He is among five individuals who were declared winners of the award.

Kumar’s “Prime Time” program “deals with real-life, under-reported problems of ordinary people”, it added.

“If you have become the voice of the people, you are a journalist,” the citation added.

The four other winners of the 2019 Ramon Magsaysay Award are Ko Swe Win from Myanmar, Angkhana Neelapaijit from Thailand, Raymundo Pujante Cayabyab from Philippines and Kim Jong-Ki from South Korea.