Journos receive accolade

KATHMANDU: Two economic journalists — Nava Raj Chalise from News 24 Television and Krishna Acharya from Kantipur — have bagged SEJON Award that Society of Economic Journalists-Nepal (SEJON) provides every year for best news reports from print and electronic media. A jury of former SEJON presidents led by founding president Prateek Pradhan decided to award Chalise and Acharya. Acharya has been awarded for his breaking news on malpractices seen in import of goods after the April 25 earthquake to avoid customs duties. Likewise, Chalise received the accolade for his news on smuggling of gold.


  • Industries start laying off workers