Image award nominees announced

KATHMANDU: Those waiting for the 11th Annual Tuborg Image Awards can breathe a sigh of relief now as the awards are taking place soon. A press meet was organised by Image Channel at Shangri La Hotel on July 27, where the nominees for the awards were announced. President of Image Channel RK Manandhar, Indira Manandhar, Vice-President, Mohan Chandra Singh, Vice-President and Sapana Subba, CEO were present to interact with the media.

Out of 25 categories in four groups (general, special, national and music video), nominees of 23 categories were announced, while three categories — Newari, Maithali and Tamang regional language songs — of national group did not have enough applications.

“Instead of having competition among few songs, we decided to felicitate musicians and singers of given categories,” said RK Manandhar.

All together around 2,000 applications had come for various categories, out of which each category has five nominees vying for the award. The winners will be chosen through a combined vote of both jury, who look give technical votes and audience who will cast popular votes for their favourite artiste through radio, television, national dailies, SMS and online voting mediums.

This year the Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to folk singer Kumar Basnet and renowned lyricist Ratna Shumsher Thapa.