11 DIGs promoted to AIG

Kathmandu, August 3

The government has decided to promote 11 deputy inspectors general of police to the post of additional inspector general.

A Cabinet meeting held in Singha Durbar took a decision to this effect, said Minister for Information and Communications Mohan Bahadur Basnet, who is also the government spokesperson.

DIGs elevated to the post of AIG are Bam Bahadur Bhandari, Jaya Bahadur Chand, Devendra Subedi, Pashupati Upadhyay, Keshari Raj Ghimire, Madhav Prasad Joshi, Vijay Lal Kayastha, Kamal Singh Bam, Mingmar Lama, Rana Bahadur Chand and Bijay Raj Bhatta. The home ministry had submitted the promotion list to the Cabinet meeting.

They were recommended for promotion by a three-member Secretariat of Promotion Committee under the Ministry of Home Affairs on July 14 as per the Police Regulation, 2014. All of them are from the 1988 batch. They had joined Nepal Police as inspector along with Inspector General of Police Prakash Aryal.

Though DIG Madhu Pudasini had challenged the decision of the promotion committee in the Complaint Hearing Committee, it upheld the 11 names as they were.

According to Rule 42 of the Police Regulations-2014, any police employee not satisfied with the decision of the promotion committee may lodge a complaint with a three-member CHC within seven days. The CHC is led by chairperson of Public Service Commission with chief secretary and a secretary at the Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs as its members. The CHC, which is authorised just to retotal marks, should give its decision on the complaint within 15 days.