CBSE schools get three months to register

The MoE has stopped verifying academic certificates issued by CBSE

Kathmandu, January 8

The Ministry of Education today gave a three-month deadline to schools affiliated to the Central Board of Secondary Education of India to register themselves with concerned government authorities.

MoE has told the schools to register themselves before the end of the current academic session. It has also warned that schools not registering themselves within three months would not be allowed to take new admissions in the new academic session.

The academic session of schools affiliated to the CBSE begins from April, which means that these schools have around three months to register themselves.

Talking to the media persons, Education Minister Giriraj Mani Pokharel said, “If any school affiliated to CBSE fails to come under the government’s purview, they would be barred from taking admissions in the new academic session.”

Earlier, a technical committee formed under the coordination of Education secretary Bishwo Prakash Pandit had prepared a report recommending the government to regulate schools running CBSE curriculum in Nepal.

The report was presented in the Cabinet on January 1. The Cabinet had forwarded the report to its Social Committee for further study.

Minister Pokharel said the Social Committee approved the report yesterday. The MoE has stopped verifying academic certificates issued by such institutions, stating that such schools had no legal existence in Nepal.

As per the Education Regulations, any school established in the country either by a private party or the government should be registered with the respective district education offices.

Meanwhile, such schools had neither registered themselves with the concerned authorities nor paid taxes to the government. Private schools in the country have been paying 45 per cent of their profits to the government in taxes.

In April, 2013 too, the education ministry had asked the CBSE affiliated schools not to admit students in the new session, but none followed the decision.

Altogether 14 schools, including Kendriya Bidhyala on the premises of the Indian Embassy in Kathmandu, have been running CBSE curriculum.

Other schools running CBSE curriculum in Kathmandu Valley are Chobar-based Modern Indian School, Tahachal-based Rupy’s International School, Bansbari-based The Chandbagh School, Gyaneshwor-based Rai School, Naxal-based Alok Vidhyashram, Dhobighat-based DAV Sushil Kedia Vishwa Bharti Higher Secondary School.

Similarly other schools outside valley included DAV Rukmini Banarsi Kedia School in Birgunj, Delhi Public School based in Dharan, Birgunj and Biratnagar, Damodar Academy in Mahottari, Nepal Bhart Maitri Vidyalaya in Pokhara and Dedraj Sewali Devi Todi School in Biratnagar.