A seniority-based constitutional bench has been formed from among the Supreme Court justices to hear the writ against Citizenship Amendment ordinance, on Friday.

Chief Justice Cholendra Shumsher Rana has formed the bench comprising Justices Deepak Kumar Karki, Hari Krishna Karki, Mira Khadka and Ishwar Prasad Khatiwada.

It has been learnt that one of the senior justices -- Bishwambhar Shrestha --is in isolation due to the Covid-19 infection following which the next-in-line Justice, Ishwar Prasad Khatiwada, was picked for the bench.

The bench will hear six writ petitions that have been filed against the citizenship amendment ordinance, today.

President Bidhya Devi Bhandari on May 23 had issued the Nepali Citizenship (first amendment) ordinance.


Constitutional bench to be reconstituted

CJ agrees to constitute constitutional bench members on seniority basis

President issues ordinance to amend citizenship act